side menu icon

Girl Scouts presents Awards of Distinction

Girl Scouts Western Pennsylvania (GSWPA) will honor 10 Pittsburgh women and two local Gold Award Girl Scouts for their accomplishments and leadership on Friday, May 21 at the annual Awards of Distinction, hosted as a virtual celebration this year. In addition to the annual program, a VIP, virtual networking reception will be held on Tuesday, May 18.

This annual event honors these inspirational women and celebrates the mission of the Girl Scout Movement, which is to build girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place.

Event information and detailed biographies on each award recipient can be found at

The 2021 Women of Distinction in each category are:

  • Business: Rhonda Fischer, Chief Operating Officer, Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University
  • Communications: Toni Murphy, Senior Vice President, Comcast's Keystone Region
  • Economic Development: Sabrina Saunders Mosby, President and CEO, Vibrant Pittsburgh
  • Education: Kathy W. Humphrey, PhD, Senior Vice Chancellor for Engagement and Secretary to the Board, University of Pittsburgh
  • Entrepreneurship: Nisha Blackwell, Owner, Knotzland
  • Health Care: Kenyokee C. Crowell, SVP, Clinical Services, Highmark Health
  • Journalism: Lynne Hayes-Freeland, Talk Show Host, KDKA-Radio/KDKA-TV
  • Law: Annie Hanna Engel, Chief Legal Officer, Hanna Holdings, Inc.
  • STEM: Science & Conservation: Dr. Barbara Baker, President & CEO, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium
  • STEM: Technology: Deborah Guild, Head of Enterprise Technology & Security, PNC Financial Services

Two Girl Scouts will also be honored during the event. The Girl Scout of Distinction Award will be presented to Gold Award Girl Scout Chintha Kathiresan, a student at Avonworth High School, in recognition of her efforts to create resources to support the Hindu education of youth in Pittsburgh and nationally. Gold Award Girl Scout Charlotte Menke, who attends Pine-Richland High School, will receive the Girl Scout Humanitarian Award for combating teen suicide by creating a teen mentoring program for incoming freshmen, which aims to foster connections in the face of isolation.

Serving as the 2021 Honorary Chair on the event’s committee is Diane Holder, executive vice president at UPMC and president and chief executive officer with UPMC Health Plan.

The 2021 Awards of Distinction benefits GSWPA and is presented by UPMC and UPMC Health Plan. PNC is gratefully recognized as a Diamond Sponsor for the event, as well as Platinum Sponsor Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield.